Drapes and Cuts

I was looking for inspiration, started off looking through my list of fave designers on my fashion website The Brainchild Exhibition, looked up J Mendel’s newest collections on his site, and then looked for copy of the images I could save to my picture database I keep. Through the search I found this fabulous website – Drape and Cuts, finally somewhere that appreciates fashion with design value instead of what I find is the complete copy of an everyday item with a simple micro-tweak (fabric change, new print, move the dart there = BORING!)

When I say this, it’s because I used to have a pile taller than me of fashion magazines that I had been looking through since 2001! That’s not including the hundreds of historical fashion books I have perused and the movies, television and fashion reports I have viewed. I’m not claiming myself to be worthy of rivalry with famous judges like Michael Kors or Nina Garcia, they have their own taste as do I. If you see my work (available for viewing on my online portfolio), I challenge the design and construction, essentially trying to recreate the wheel against better judgement and advice from my college professors than to simply take a concept I like and make it my own.

Here are some of the posts I found have the most interest . .  *cough*, design value fashion:

Olivia Wilde in Reem Acra
Gowns by Patrice Ramos-Diaz
Gowns by Patrice Ramos-Diaz
Source: silverfawn
Vera Wang Bridal Fall 2011
Vera Wang Bridal Fall 2011
Vera Wang Bridal Fall 2011
Vera Wang Bridal Fall 2011
Vera Wang Bridal Fall 2011
Philipp Tampus
jenny packham
Halle Berry in Marchesa at the Oscars
Leann Marshall, Project Runway Season 5
Zac Posen Resort 2012
Leave a Reply

