Shipping Container Homes – Affordable and Eco-Friendly

I don’t know if it was by fluke, but I found this video in the top three on YouTube for what was trending in Canada:

I checked out a couple more videos and thought: Wow, what if you could get another shipping container donated for charity and build someone a home? Like a shelter for the homeless, women’s or teen shelter, someone who lost their home to a disaster in the area. You wouldn’t believe what people will throw out, there’s no reason a simple one 40′ standard cargo container couldn’t be retro-fitted to become someone’s temporary or permanent living arrangements.

So before I begin, here’s one of the other videos I watched that contains factual data on the uses, structural integrity, building codes, etc for turning shipping containers into a place of residence:

After a couple of searches I found these inspiration designs which seems to be trending for architectural designers and design competitions:

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Now if this project were to work, without relying on trying to find an architect that would design an elaborate concept, such as the ones above, it would need to concentrate one individual shipping container. So next I perused through plans and blueprints that could be found through Google image search, just to get an idea of where they were orientating the required functional items, like the bathroom, the kitchen, the bed, etc:

Now this would work, although I was hoping to get a donated standard 40′ cargo container, but in the event that one that large couldn’t be found or another kind of container such as a gently used trailer or a train car had to be used instead, at least it gives you a sense of proportions and compact essentials.

This one is a double, with a total 40′ but essentially two 20′ long shipping containers and/trailer put together to provide enough room for a small family.

If you’re interested in taking on a project like this for yourself, be sure to read this article on eHow about what you’ll need to be able to start and comply with city building codes.

3 thoughts on “Shipping Container Homes – Affordable and Eco-Friendly

  1. Hmm it seems like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any helpful hints for first-time blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    1. It’s slow at first, I would simply recommend searching on Google or even here on WordPress for articles on the subject. One thing I’ve learned is to find posts similar to yours and make some kind of comment. It’s referred to on Youtube as ‘back-tracking’ or something. I just happen to cover a couple of subjects that I like and get lots of hits, this article being one of them. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

