Keep Your Stick On The Ice

It’s a saying I’ve heard a few times as of late: “Keep you’re stick on the ice!” Of course I immediately associate the phrase with the Canadian comedy The R ed Green Show, which is usually told at the end of a scene where Red Green himself is sitting as his cluttered desk talking about something or rather, giving his usual macho-bravado advice to all the men watching. When I pull myself back from the memories associated with that line, I really come to realize that perhaps I’ve been hearing it more lately because I needed to hear it. I’ve been feeling like I’m going to get stuck being a cashier at a grocery store for years to come and my passion, creativity and talent (not to sound vain, but this is an acknowledgement of others telling me that it what I have.)

I want to make my mark and a change in the world. I don’t know if I’ll get to do all the things I set out to do: create fashion and works of art, write/direct/produce compelling stories for television and film, pioneer human rights around the world, etc. But I don’t want to sit on the sidelines and watch as it passes me by, for better or for worse.

I’ve tried on several occasions to job search and there’s nothing out there for me . . . or rather anything that I would feel I could do for the year or so I would have to spend doing it to make it my while and not let my employer down, but rather exceed their expectations. You can read all about my Job Hunting Dilemma but that’s beside the point, not all jobs are posted, much less publicly on job-sites. One of my professors in college told me how her approach at a nationally known sportswear label liked her so much he created a spot for her in his company. Anything is possible.

As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, I’ve posted on all the groups that I’m associated with on LinkedIn looking for work, though there is one prospect from the only reply, I’m still a little depressed at the economic opportunities available for me. How long will have to wait for an opportunity to arise? Can I handle waiting more than a year or two? I’ve almost forgotten, but I’ll be making a call first thing in the morning about talking to a gentleman from Colintex who met with my fellow college classmates our final semester about the industry and finding jobs. When I informed him that I was looking in a different industry, he said to call once I graduate. Well, that was almost a month ago, time to get on the ball I guess.

God willing, all those times I heard those words, it was his way of reminding me that I need to get off my touchkus (sorry if this is spelled wrong, Google couldn’t help) to look for an opportunity so he could help me find it and make it reality . . . so for all of you who are in my shoes, keep your stick on the ice!

Leave a Reply

