Life Goes On . . .

It’s raining outside as I write this, a drizzly day overshadows my attempt to be productive. I have had little to no luck finding any recent potential job postings, though I have not had as much time to search as I would like. Work has kept me busy and my supervisor stated on more than one occasion how I reliable, which usually means I’m scheduled for shifts at the “butt-crack of dawn” (quoting Hawaii Five-0) or the midnight shift. I don’t mind, especially seeing as I don’t have much of a social life with which to contend. The only future engagement I have had as of late were Thanksgiving this past weekend, a trip to London to see a friend and have dinner at The Mandarin and my coming graduation at Fanshawe College this November from the Fashion Design Program.

My spare time at the moment is spent sketching fashion designs, doing odd tailoring or repairs for family and friends and creatively writing my book. The latter has received great progress, the most in fact since it first started some five years past. I’ve come to the conclusion that since I am in fact a visual person that it would work best to create a visual story board to organize all the scene, which are in fact very complicated as they are some thirty or so characters to keep track of. I chuckle to myself, it seems the first book I may ever write is even more complicated than any of the Dune books, a series that even fewer can read and keep track of. I hope to not make it too complicated that even the most novice a reader can not get past the first chapter. Hopefully it won’t be long before everything is organized and I can begin to write it all out.

In the meantime, life goes on . . .

5 thoughts on “Life Goes On . . .

  1. Sounds like the recipe for an epic novel! Tolkien created an entire language to go with his! I looked it up once: he even had all of the verb tense changes mapped out! And I loved the way Robert Jordan had so many unique cultures, complete with their own idioms, customs, dress, etc. Sometimes you could tell just by reading the dialogue which country an individual was from.
    I’ve been trying my hand lately, but I’m just writing with only a vague idea about general direction. I’m going to have to start some character sheets or something though, because I have to keep looking back through previously written material to keep my facts straight! Good luck with your novel! Sounds like a good read!

    1. Thank you for the support Amy, I hope you have great success with your writing. I would be more than happy to recommend some reading material or methods for your writing, even your character sheets. I found what worked best besides basic knowledge (appearance, mannerism, background, etc) was to list their Goals, Motivations and Conflicts. I would have fumbled had I not wrote those down for each of my pivotal characters.

      1. I would definitely recommend How NOT To Write A Novel by Howard Mittelmark and Sandra Newman, because it’s too tough trying to figure out what you can do with potential for success without knowing what to avoid. It’s also pretty humourous too: “Having spent long years writing business letters, filling in application forms, and suing neighbors, the fledgling writer sits down to write a love scene, and out comes something that reads like a translation from the Vulcan” ROTFL!
        I would also recommend, yes, The Idiot’s Guide to Writing A Novel 2nd Edition by Tom Monteleone. Though he explores language, style, characterization, etc like any other ‘How To’ book, he also makes some good points on what reading material you should have to keep your creative energies flowing.
        I recently picked up a few books lately at Chapters during a trip to London, I discovered one called Write Your Book Now by Gene Perret, though I have not had the pleasure of reading as of yet, it’s only filled with the action plan and strategies to help you start and finish your writing projects. It seems to have some potential, we shall see
        A lot of advice I see for aspiring writers are: Read the genre and style you want to write in; practice your writing so your style will develop on it’s own and you won’t have to consciously think about so much; etc. Most of the advice can be found following certain twitter handles you can find on the bottom of my Creative Writing Resources Page
        Hope this helps to put you off to a good start, I would love to stay in touch and help out any way I can, though I must admit, I am a intermediate writer myself. I still have much to learn, don’t we all.

      2. Wow! Your resources page is awesome! I looked at a few of the links today; can’t wait to peruse it a little more. It’s definitely going into my favorites folder. Also, thanks for the book suggestions!

Leave a Reply

